Skip to content
Why Knot..I’m Taking The High Road

May 11, 2012

Isn’t it amazing when you unintentionally discover a style that works for you?

Due to the rainy weather this week, I didn’t feel like fussing with curling irons, hair products and so forth…and because of that..a new personal favorite hairstyle was discovered. The top knot ponytail bun.

My signature go to style for years has been long layers (and still is), but now..I’m kind of digging the top knot bun and absolutely loving the simplicity.  Not only is the look easy and quick to style, but it perfectly sets off every and any outfit.  Another reason I love the look..it enhances facial features such as eyes, cheek bones, etc.

I’ve never been one to wear a ponytail in such heavy rotation such as I have this week because I always reserved ponytails for bad hair days, but now, it’s a style for when the mood sets.

Top knot buns are, always have and always will be the chic hairstyle of choice when a woman wants a look that is chic and feminine in an understated way. Here are variations of the style worn neat, braided, messy and colored on an icon, celebrities and the runway.

The style on an icon…Audrey Hepburn

 

And recently worn braided, colored, sleek and messy by several stylish celebrities, such as..

Eva Longoria

Katy Perry

Lala Anthony

Supermodel Carolyn Murphy

Freida Pinto

Kim Kardashian

On The Fall 2012 Runway of Mary Katrantzou

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2012 6:59 pm

    It looks cool! When I was younger I used to think that a tied up hair didnt look as smart but now that I’m older I’ve realised how cute and smart it can be, as you’ve proven here!

  2. Naima Turner permalink*
    May 11, 2012 7:13 pm

    Thank you Bryony!..and it’s definitely a style that will be worn during the summer when it’s too hot and humid outside to have hair falling on my neck and great with tops, such as halters to show off the neckline!

Leave a Reply

